ASUU(new): Parents and Students Should Check This List If Your University Is Under ‘CONUA’

The Congress of Nigerian University Academics (CONUA), a newly registered union by the Federal Government broke away from the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), now has thirteen universities under its operations across Nigeria.

The registration procedure, according to CONUA leadership, began in 2018, despite the government’s claim that it was hesitant to authorise it because it didn’t want to cause an issue.

The union is led by Niyi Sunmonu, a lecturer at Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU).

The idea of the Congress of University Academics, presently known as CONUA, emerged from approximately 750 academic personnel (lecturers) at Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife.

They performed this on February 12, 2018, in Obafemi Awolowo University’s Humanities Block I Auditorium.

On March 6, 2018, more than 120 members gathered at the same location for the official opening of CONUA, including officials from the University of Ilorin and Kwara State University, Malete. Other colleges that have had similar experiences to OAU have petitioned to join the union since then.

You can read more of such stories at Credible News 

It was gathered that the first National Stakeholders’ Meeting of CONUA was conducted from October 4th to October 6th, 2019 at Obafemi Awolowo University in Ile-Ife. Representatives from OAU, KWASU, FU Lokoja, AAU, Ekpoma, and FUOYE were present.

CONUA now has members from all academic levels in Nigeria. From graduate assistant to professor, which is the highest rank, there are a lot of different jobs.

Since this decision, other academics (Lecturers) from numerous Nigerian universities who share the same philosophy, circumstances, visions, and goals have established branches of the union with members at all levels of the academic profession.

Here are List of Universities under CONUA:

  • University of Port-Harcourt
  • Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike
  • University of Benin
  • Federal University, Lokoja
  • Federal University, Oye
  • Kwara State University, Malete
  • Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  • Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria 
  • Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile- Ife.
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye
  • University of Abuja
  • Delta State University, Abraka and 
  • Federal University, Otuoke are in the process of inaugurating CONUA as a union.

You can read more of such stories at Credible News and The Cheer News

 Send Us a Press Statement |  Advertise with us |  Contact us


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button